mbd2.com Forum Homepage

Forum Home Forum Home > Balloon Entertainer's Post & Tips > Introduce
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   StoreStore  Photo GalleryPhoto Gallery  Register Register  Login Login

Danoballoonmano

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
danoballoonmano View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Moderator (Canada)

Quote danoballoonmano Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Danoballoonmano
    Posted: 26 February 2004 at 2:19am
Hello all,
   My name is Dan Thiel and I hail from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. I have been twisting balloons for just over four years now. I started twisting because my son at the age of three loved balloons. (I have a 4 year old daughter now and my son is 7)
   Every time we went to the local Farmer's market I had to buy him one...so...being the frugal (cheap) man that I am I decided...I am a stay home dad (after almost 20 years in the restaurant and restaurant management industry) and I have lots of time and a brain in my head.....why don't I get a book from the library and a bag of balloons and try to figure this out.
   4 years later a number of things have happened:
1) I now work that farmer's market.(as well as three others)
2) I can make any animal that a kid asks for (or the "patented" Dan The Balloon Man's guarantee of "I will eat a bug" comes into play)
3) My kids are sick of balloons, but I am obsessed
4) I am the busiest balloon twister in the city
5) I don't buy as much beer as I used to due to an oxygen deprivation "high" from blowing up thousands of balloons every year.
6) I love my job and can't wait to get to work!!!!
7) I make more money now than I have in a long time, but do so doing something that I truly enjoy.
8) I have been invited to numerous festivals accross Canada and am contemplating a cross Canada working vacation with my family next summer.